
  

  

 

NEW YORK MOTOR VEHICLE NO-FAULT INSURANCE LAW 
COVER LETTER 

NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER  OF 
INSURER, SELF-INSURER OR REPRESENTATIVE* 

NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER  OF CLAIM 
REPRESENTATIVE* 

DATE POLICYHOLDER POLICY NUMBER DATE OF ACCIDENT CLAIM NUMBER 

NAME AND ADDRESS OF APPLICANT 

COMPLETE THE ATTACHED DB-450 FORM 
IMMEDIATELY IF YOU ARE ENTITLED TO NEW 
YORK STATE DISABILITY BENEFITS AND MAIL OR 
GIVE IT TO YOUR EMPLOYER. TO FIND OUT IF 
YOU ARE ELIGIBLE, TELEPHONE THE NEW YORK 
STATE DISABILITY BENEFITS BUREAU AT (800) 353-
3092 

DEAR APPLICANT: 

This will acknowledge receipt of notice that you may have sustained injuries in the above captioned accident. The New York 
No-Fault Law provides for the payment of benefits to victims of motor vehicle accidents to reimburse them for their basic 
economic loss. Briefly summarized, basic economic loss consists of up to $50,000 per person in benefits for the following: 

a. all necessary doctor and hospital bills and other health service expenses, payable in accordance with fee 
schedules established or adopted by the New York State Department of Financial Services; 

b. 80% of lost earnings up to a maximum monthly payment of $2,000 for up to three years following the date of the 
accident; 

c. up to $25 per day for a period of one year from the date of the accident for other reasonable and necessary 
expenses the injured person may have incurred because of an injury resulting from the accident, such as the cost 
of hiring a housekeeper or necessary transportation expenses to and from a health service provider; and 

d. a $2,000 death benefit, payable to the estate of a covered person, in addition to the $50,000 coverage for 
economic loss described above. 

Additional benefits may be owed to you if the above policy has been endorsed to include Optional Basic Economic Loss 
coverage and/or Additional Personal Injury Protection coverage. 

In determining the benefits payable to you under the No-Fault Law, amounts recovered or recoverable on account of the 
accident from Workers' Compensation, New York State Disability, and certain wage continuation plans will reduce your No-
Fault benefits. Therefore, if you are entitled to any of these benefits you should make your claim for them promptly. 

If you are a named insured or relative under a Mandatory Personal Injury Protection policy which includes OBEL coverage, 
you may be entitled to an additional $25,000 of Basic Economic Loss coverage. You should make your claim to that motor 
vehicle insurer promptly, but in no event later than 90 days after your $50,000 of Basic Economic Loss coverage under this 
policy is exhausted. 

NOTE: The No-Fault Law provides that if you are injured on a bus or a school bus in New York State, No-Fault benefits must 
be paid by your auto insurer or if you have no auto, the auto insurer of a relative with whom you reside. The law further 
provides that you should only file a No-Fault claim with the insurer of the bus or school bus if there is no such auto policy in 
your household. The above rule does not apply and you may file a No-Fault claim with the insurer of the bus or school bus if 
you are the operator, owner or employee of the owner of the bus company. 
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COVER LETTER -- PAGE TWO 

To enable us to determine if you are entitled to any No-Fault benefits, please complete and immediately return the enclosed 
APPLICATION FOR MOTOR VEHICLE NO-FAULT BENEFITS (NYS FORM NF-2) along with copies of any bills you have 
received to date. This application must be sent to us within 90 days of the accident date if your original notice to us was not in 
writing. 

You are entitled to receive health service benefits without any time limit if it is possible to determine during the first 
year after the accident that further health services may be required after the first year. As you receive additional 
medical bills or any other bills you believe to be covered, send them to us immediately. In order to be considered 
for payment, all bills for health care services must be submitted within 180 days of treatment. If it is not possible 
for you or your health care provider to submit these bills within that time period, submit a written explanation of the 
reason for the delay. Claims for other reasonable and necessary expenses must be submitted within 90 days. 
We will reimburse you as soon as we are able to verify that they are covered expenses under No-Fault. Please 
identify all communications with us with the claim number shown above. Should you have any questions 
concerning your claim, we will be most happy to assist you. Please feel free to call the claim representative at the 
phone number provided at the top of page one. 

ANY PERSON WHO KNOWINGLY AND WITH INTENT TO DEFRAUD ANY INSURANCE COMPANY OR 
OTHER PERSON FILES AN APPLICATION FOR COMMERCIAL INSURANCE OR A STATEMENT OF CLAIM 
FOR ANY COMMERCIAL OR PERSONAL INSURANCE BENEFITS CONTAINING ANY MATERIALLY FALSE 
INFORMATION, OR CONCEALS FOR THE PURPOSE OF MISLEADING, INFORMATION CONCERNING ANY 
FACT MATERIAL THERETO, AND ANY PERSON WHO, IN CONNECTION WITH SUCH APPLICATION OR 
CLAIM, KNOWINGLY MAKES OR KNOWINGLY ASSISTS, ABETS, SOLICITS OR CONSPIRES WITH 
ANOTHER TO MAKE A FALSE REPORT OF THE THEFT, DESTRUCTION, DAMAGE OR CONVERSION OF 
ANY MOTOR VEHICLE TO A LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY, THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
OR AN INSURANCE COMPANY, COMMITS A FRAUDULENT INSURANCE ACT, WHICH IS A CRIME, AND 
SHALL ALSO BE SUBJECT TO A CIVIL PENALTY NOT TO EXCEED FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS AND THE 
VALUE OF THE SUBJECT MOTOR VEHICLE OR STATED CLAIM FOR EACH VIOLATION. 

Very truly yours, 

IMPORTANT REMINDERS 

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS ON THE APPLICATION FORM AND SIGN BOTH 
AUTHORIZATIONS SO THAT WE MAY GIVE PROMPT ATTENTION TO YOUR CLAIM 

*LANGUAGE TO BE FILLED IN BY INSURER OR SELF-INSURER. 
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