
November 15, 1982 

SUBJECT: INSURANCE 

WITHDRAWN 

Circular Letter No. 31 (1982) 
November 15, 1982 

TO: ALL INSURANCE COMPANIES AUTHORIZED TO TRANSACT FIRE INSURANCE BUSINESS IN NEW 
YORK STATE 

RE: FIRST AMENDMENT TO REGULATION 96 (11 NYCRR 62-3) STANDARD CLAIM FORMS FOR FIRE 
LOSSES 

The First Amendment to Regulation 96 (11 NYCRR 62-3) promulgated pursuant to the requirements of Section 
336-b of the Insurance Law, set forth a standard claim form to be used for fire loss claims made on and after April 1, 
1982, and stated: 

"All insurers are required to maintain in their files, before a claim may be paid, the information contained in Part 1 
of NYFC-1 for every fire claim made on a policy. In addition, for all claims which in the estimate of the insurer shall 
exceed $ 10,000, Part 2 of NYFC-1 must also be completed and maintained in the insurer's files." 

This is to advise you that insurers having computerized files, which have the individual claim information required 
by Part 1 of the State of New York Standard Fire Claim Form (NYFC-1), need not maintain in their files the actual Part 
1 of NYFC-1, as long as the required information can be subsequently produced in hard copy upon request from the 
Department. 

In addition, in lieu of Part 1 of NYFC-1, set forth in the Regulation, insurers may use the industry's Property Loss 
Notice (Acord 1), with edition dates up to and including 8/82. Other forms may be submitted for approval by the 
Department but shall not be used until such approval is obtained. 

Part 2 of NYFC-1, as promulgated in the First Amendment to Regulation 96 (11 NYCRR 62-3), must continue to 
be used for all claims which in the estimate of the insurer shall exceed $ 10,000. 

Please acknowledge receipt of this letter to: 

Property and Casualty Insurance Bureau
 
State of New York Insurance Department
 
2 World Trade Center
 
New York, NY 10047
 

Very truly yours, 

[SIGNATURE] 

ALBERT B. LEWIS 
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Superintendent of Insurance 


