New York State
| nsurance Department

| SSUED: 10/11/06 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NEW YORK STATE INSURANCE DEPARTMENT TAKESDISCIPLINARY
ACTIONS AGAINST COMPANIES, AGENTS, BROKERS & ADJUSTERS

The New York State Insurance Department has taken disciplinary action against the following

licensees. Those categorized as stipulations have been agreed to by the licensee. Department actions
that result from Department hearings are subject to judicial review and possible stay of enforcement.

INSURANCE COMPANIES

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
AutoOne Insurance Company One Beacon Street $17,950 fine
Boston, MA

Respondent violated Section 5106 of the Insurance Law and Department Regulation 68 (11
NYCRR Part 65) which require that: an insurer must send a no-fault application within 5
business days after receipt of notice of claim at its claim processing office; payment or denial
of claim must be made within 30 calendar days of receipt of relevant information and/or
proof of claim; and that all overdue PIP benefits shall bear interest at a rate of 2 percent per
month, compounded and calculated on a pro rata basis using a 30-day month. [Stipulation
approved November 9, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Continental Insurance Company 120 South Riverside Plaza $120,600 fine
Chicago, IL

Respondent violated Section 5106 of the Insurance Law and Department Regulations 64 and
68 (11 NYCRR Parts 216 and 65 respectively) which require that: payment or denial of
claim must be made within 30 calendar days of receipt of relevant information and/or proof
of claim; all overdue PIP benefits shall bear interest at a rate of 2 percent per month,
compounded and calculated on a pro rata basis using a 30 day month; and that all first and
third-party losses, however sustained, where damage to the claimant’s vehicle exceeds
$2,500, shall be reported to the NICB no later than five calendar days after the sale of
salvage, or, if the insured or claimant is permitted to retain the vehicle, no later than five
calendar days after the date of loss payment. [Stipulation approved December 16, 2004.]

-more-
LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Homeland Insurance Company of | One Beacon Street $15,200 fine
New York Boston, MA

Respondent violated Section 3426 of the Insurance Law and Department Regulations 57, 96
and 129 (11 NYCRR Parts 160, 62 and 161 respectively) which require that: an insurer must
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charge filed rates; at least 45 days but not more than 60 days in advance of the expiration
date of the policy, every insurer shall deliver an anti-arson application to the named insured;
rating plans for eligibility purposes may only be used in the rating of risks which generate
certain enumerated basic limits premium; the use of a filed and approved experience rating,
schedule rating, IRPM or expense reduction plan is mandatory and shall be applied
uniformly in a non-discriminatory manner for all eligible classes of risk; any “a” rated
information shall be retained in the insurer’s individual underwriting file for each policy
issued for a period of 5 years from the date of first issuance of such policy, and shall be
available for inspection; a conditional renewal notice shall contain the specific reason or
reasons for conditional renewal and set forth the amount of any premium increase or a
reasonable estimate of the premium increase which shall not exceed a range of 5% of the
actual amount; and that every notice of cancellation shall specify the grounds for cancellation
and shall contain reference to the applicable subsection of Section 3426 (c). [Stipulation
approved December 3, 2005.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Metropolitan General Insurance 700 Quaker Lane $24,750 fine
Company Warwick, RI

Respondent violated Section 3425 of the Insurance Law by exceeding the maximum number
of Private Passenger automobile non-renewals permitted for calendar year 2002. [Stipulation
approved December 22, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
National-Ben Franklin Insurance 120 South Riverside Plaza $31,050 fine
Company of Illinois Chicago, IL

Respondent violated Section 5106 of the Insurance Law and Department Regulation 68 (11
NYCRR Part 65) which require that: an insurer must send a no-fault application within 5
business days after receipt of notice of claim at its claim processing office; an insurer must
send a follow-up no-fault application if the original application is not returned within 30
calendar days; payment or denial of claim must be made within 30 calendar days of receipt
of relevant information and/or proof of claim; and that all overdue PIP benefits shall bear
interest at a rate of 2 percent per month, compounded and calculated on a pro rata basis using
a 30 day month. [Stipulation approved December 16, 2004.]

-more-




LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY

OneBeacon American Insurance One Beacon Street $56,000 fine
Company Boston, MA

Respondent violated Respondent violated Section 3426 of the Insurance Law and
Department Regulations 57, 96 and 129 (11 NYCRR Parts 160, 62 and 161 respectively)
which require that: an insurer must charge filed rates; at least 45 days but not more than 60
days in advance of the expiration date of the policy, every insurer shall deliver an anti-arson
application to the named insured; rating plans for eligibility purposes may only be used in
the rating of risks which generate certain enumerated basic limits premium; the use of a filed
and approved experience rating, schedule rating, IRPM or expense reduction plan is
mandatory and shall be applied uniformly in a non-discriminatory manner for all eligible
classes of risk; a covered policy shall remain in effect pursuant to the same terms, conditions
and rates unless written notice is given to the insured and his authorized agent or broker
indicating the insurer’s intention to condition its renewal on certain enumerated changes; a
conditional renewal notice shall contain the specific reason or reasons for conditional
renewal and set forth the amount of any premium increase or a reasonable estimate of the
premium increase which shall not exceed a range of 5% of the actual amount; and that every
notice of cancellation shall specify the grounds for cancellation and shall contain reference to
the applicable subsection of Section 3426(c). [Stipulation approved January 1, 2005.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Preferred Mutual Insurance One Preferred Way $8,300 fine
Company New Berlin, NY

Respondent violated Respondent violated Section 5106 of the Insurance Law and
Department Regulation 68 (11 NYCRR Part 65) which require that payment or denial of
claim must be made with 30 calendar days of receipt of relevant information and/or proof of
claim; and that all overdue PIP benefits shall bear interest at a rate of 2 percent per month,
compounded and calculated on a pro rata basis using a 30-day month. [Stipulation approved
November 9, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Progressive Northwestern 6300 Wilson Mills Road $4,500 fine
Insurance Mayfield Village, OH

Respondent violated Section 3425 of the Insurance Law by exceeding the maximum number
of Private Passenger automobile non-renewals permitted for calendar year 2002. [Stipulation
approved December 2, 2004.]

-more-




LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY

Public Service Mutual Insurance One Park Avenue $40,400 fine
Company New York, NY

Respondent violated Respondent violated Section 3426 of the Insurance Law and
Department Regulations 57, 129, 96 and 86 (11 NYCRR Parts 160, 161, 62 and 16
respectively) which require that: an insurer must charge filed rates; rating plans for eligibility
purposes may only be used in the rating of risks which generate enumerated basis limits
premium; an insurer must utilize a filed and approved rating plan and apply it in a non-
discriminatory manner for all eligible classes of risk; individual underwriting files shall
contain the specific criteria relative to the risk being rated and document the particular
circumstances that support each debit or credit; any “a” rated information shall be retained in
the insurer’s individual underwriting file for each policy issued for period of 5 years from the
date of first issuance of such policy, and shall be available for inspection; every insurer,
broker or agent shall furnish an anti-arson application prior to or at any time a risk is
submitted or bound; in order to qualify for placement in the FTZ, a risk must either produce
an annual premium of $100,000 for one kind of insurance, or be enumerated in the list
contained in Section 16.12(e) of Regulation 86; the required FTZ notice shall appear
conspicuously on the front page of each binder, policy, contract, rider, or endorsement and
on all subsequent additions thereto; a covered policy shall remain in effect pursuant to the
same terms, conditions and rates unless written notice is given to the insured and his
authorized agent or broker indicating the insurer’s intention to condition its renewal on
certain enumerated changes; and that a non-renewal notice, a conditional renewal notice and
a second alternative notice shall contain the specific reason or reasons for non renewal or
conditional renewal. [Stipulation approved January 18, 2005.]

AGENT AND BROKERSHEARINGS

Region: New York City

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Amigo Insurance Agency Corp. 79-15 Northern Blvd.
(Broker) Jackson Heights, NY

Licenses revoked
William Avristizabal 226 N. Wantagh Ave.
(Broker and Sublicensee) Bethpage, NY

Respondents issued 16 insurance premium checks that were dishonored by the bank upon
which they were drawn and failed to remit and account for 7 premium payments received
from its sub-producer. Respondents were also decertified by the New York Automobile
Insurance Plan (NYAIP) for one year for violations of the NYAIP’s rules and Respondents
failed to cooperate with the Department’s investigation. [Order issued December 14, 2004.]

-more-




LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY

Elliot J. Kozak 104-21 68th Dr. No B 66 License
revoked
(Agent) Forest Hills, NY

Respondent failed to disclose a criminal conviction on his agent’s license application. In
addition, the Prudential Insurance Company of American terminated the Respondent’s
employment based on the fact that he had failed to disclose his criminal conviction on his
Pre-Hire Consent Form. The Respondent was ordered by the Department to pay a $3,000
fine which he failed to do which resulted in the revocation of his license. [Order issued
September 23, 2004.]

Region: Westchester

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Exception Insurance Agency, Inc. 30 Point Street

(Broker) Yonkers, NY Licenses revoked
Monetj A. Primm Same as above

(Broker and Sublicensee)

Respondents isued approximately 60 premium payment checks that were dishonored by the
bank upon which they were drawn. Respondents failed to cooperate with the Department’s
investigation. [Order issued November 1, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Jeffrey C. Curtin 2032 N W 46" License revoked
(Agent) Oklahoma City, OH

Respondent failed to cooperate with the Department’s investigation of the denial by North
Carolina of Respondent’s insurance license application. [Order issued November 1, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Lance M. Kessler 11146 Vance Jackson, Apt. 3501 License revoked
(Agent) San Antonio, TX

Respondent’s insurance producer’s license was revoked by the State of Florida because he
failed to respond to its inquiry to him as to his failure to submit a legible fingerprint card. In
addition, Respondent failed to cooperate with the Department’s investigation. [Order issued
November, 2, 2004.]

-more-




AGENT AND BROKER STIPULATIONS

Region: Binghamton

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Dolores A. Tyneway 2 Division Street $500 fine
(Agent and Broker) Binghamton, NY

t/b/a

All Lines Insurance Agency

Respondent commingled her premium account to pay personal and operating expenses using
premium monies. [Stipulation approved October 22, 2004.]

Region: Jamestown

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Eric J. Steverson c/o New England Financial $1,583 fine
(Agent) 10 4™ Street

Jamestown, NY

Respondent sold his client an insurance policy without presenting the applicant with a
complete disclosure statement, although the Respondent knew or should have known that the
new policy was financed, in whole or part, by loans against an existing policy. The new
contract was rescinded and the first policy was reinstated. [Stipulation approved August 28,
2004.]

Region: Nasssau

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Jose R. Cordova 218-96 99" Avenue $500 fine
(Broker) Queens Village, NY

Respondent was placed on the certified check requirement list by the New York Automobile
Insurance Plan for issuing checks that were dishonored by the bank upon which drawn. In
addition, Respondent transacted insurance business in the name of an unlicensed entity.
[Stipulation approved October 25, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Andre P. Hamilton 100-30 Francis Lewis Blvd. $500 fine
(Independent Adjuster) Queens Village, NY

Respondent failed to disclose on his original application that he was convicted of
misdemeanor assault. [Stipulation approved September 15, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Myriam Turner 2444 Coventry Road N. $500 fine
(Agent) W. Hempstead, NY

Respondent issued checks that were dishonored by the bank upon which drawn. [Stipulation
approved October 25, 2004.]

-more-




Region: New York City

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
William Abba 1336 Myrtle Avenue $2,500 fine
(Broker) PO Box 37-0709

Brooklyn, NY

Respondent submitted inaccurate information on several automobile insurance policy
applications with regard to the name of the insured, vehicle owner and vehicle address.
[Stipulation approved November 3, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
All Around Enterprise, Inc. 1206 St. Nicholas Avenue
(Broker) New York, NY

$500 fine
George Suarez Same as above
(Sublicensee)

Respondents were placed on the certified check requirement list by the New York
Automobile Insurance Plan for issuing checks that were dishonored by the bank upon which
drawn but were subsequently replaced. [Stipulation approved September 20, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Bowery Insurance Brokerage, Inc. | 70 Bowery, Suite 28
(Broker) New York, NY

$500 fine
Yuen Man Tse 35 Montgomery Street - Apt. 11B
(Broker and Sublicensee) New York, NY

Respondents were placed on the certified check requirement list by the New York
Automobile Insurance Plan for issuing checks that were dishonored by the bank upon which
drawn. [Stipulation September 20, 2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Thony Darand 8823 Flatlands Avenue $1,500 fine
(Agent and Broker) Brooklyn, NY

Respondent violated the New York Automobile Insurance Plan rules and regulations which
resulted in the one year suspension of the Respondent’s privilege to write insurance for the
Plan and issued 9 insurance transmittal checks that were dishonored by the bank upon which
they were drawn but were subsequently replaced. In addition, Respondent failed to reply to
Departmental inquiries concerning the issuance of dishonored checks, but has since provided
the requested information. [Stipulation approved September 20, 2004.]

-more-




LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY

The Silmi Corp. 4909 7" Avenue
(Broker) PO Box 320635
Brooklyn, NY

$1,000 fine
Yehad M. Adelaziz
(Sublicensee and Broker)

Respondents were placed on the certified check requirement list by the New York
Automobile Insurance Plan for issuing checks that were dishonored by the bank upon which
drawn. In addition, Respondent commingled funds in their premium account. [Stipulation
approved January 6, 2005.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Serres, Visone & Rice Inc. 108 Greenwich Street, 4™ FI.
(Broker and Agent) New York, NY

$500 fine
Thomas G. Hansson Same as above
(Sublicensee)

Respondents failed to notify Travelers Property Casualty Insurance of a change of address
for one of the Respondents client’s and also failed to forward the non payment of premium
information received from the insurer to the client that led to a cancellation by the insurer of
the client’s major medical expense coverage policy. [Stipulation approved December 10,
2004.]

Region: Suffolk

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Robert Beegel 339 Woodbury Road $2,500 fine
(Agent) Woodbury, NY

Respondent submitted inaccurate information with his agent’s renewal license application
concerning the continuing education courses and programs of instruction that he had
completed in satisfaction of the course requirements. [Stipulation approved September 27,
2004.]

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
James A. Wallace c/o Endorsed Administrators, Inc. $5,000.00 fine
(Agent) 2157 Union Blvd.

Bay Shore, NY

Respondent violated Section 2133 of the Insurance Law by issuing forged insurance
identification cards that falsely stated that insurers had issued automobile insurance policies.
[Stipulation approved October 27, 2004.]

-more-




Region: Westchester

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Adam D. Sanders 75A Lake Road, Ste. #150 $750 fine
(Broker) Congers, NY

Respondent issued a client an auto insurance coverage identification card without the
carrier’s authorization and/or knowledge and had no authority to bind the carrier. [Stipulation

approved September 24, 2004.]

Region: Out of State

LICENSEE ADDRESS PENALTY
Angelo Cicirettti 2932 SW 2 Lane $1,000 fine
(Agent) Cape Coral, FL

Respondent failed to disclose on his original agent’s license application that his title
insurance license was suspended by the State of Florida for misappropriating fiduciary
monies. [Stipulation approved September 23, 2004.]
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